MASSAP 2014 Banner
Uncoordinated Multiple-Access Protocols, with Random Access Protocols as the best-known class of such protocols, represent a key element of wired and wireless communications systems where a potentially large population of users needs to transmit over a shared communication medium. The role of access protocols is especially relevant for systems that feature sporadic and unpredictable access activity, and/or support delay-critical applications, such as interactive satellite communications, real-time machine-type communication, etc. While traditional random access protocols treat collisions as a waste and therefore are designed to avoid them, in recent years several innovative developments have been proposed, such as physical layer network coding and various techniques based on successive interference cancellation (SIC), where interference is instead embraced and creatively utilized. These developments have opened a completely new perspective in uncoordinated protocols, paving the way to dramatic performance improvements, and rendering the throughput of random access channels competitive with respect to that of typical coordinated protocols. Besides the performance improvement, these new approaches created a new conceptual relation with error control codes, thereby opening fundamentally new problems for two rather separated research communities.  Finally, low-complexity spectral-efficient random access protocols may completely change the way scheduled and random access are supported in future standards. The goal of this workshop is to stimulate new contributions to the topic, with emphasis on cross-layer interactions between the MAC and PHY layers of the protocol stack, as well as on the connections to coding theory. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to

  • Fundamental limits on random access protocols with interference cancellation
  • Network coding in multiple access schemes
  • Joint multiuser detection
  • Cooperative access protocols
  • Signal processing for successive interference cancellation
  • Random access with spatial diversity
  • Random access in wireless sensor networks
  • Random access protocols for real-time applications
  • Channel estimation for massive access protocols
  • Energy efficient MAC-PHY spatial processing
  • Wireless access protocols for massive machine-to-machine communications
  • Wireless access protocols for vehicular networks
  • Algorithms and protocols for Cloud Radio Access Networks (C-RAN)


Tuesday, June 10

09:00 - 09:50

MASSAP-01: Keynote Session 1

Coded ALOHA for Massive Random Access: analysis via enumeration methods
Marco Chiani (University of Bologna)
Room: Lvl 4/Rm4

09:50 - 10:30

MASSAP-02: Paper Session 1

Room: Lvl 4/Rm4
Generalized Channel Coding Theorems for Random Multiple Access Communication
Jie Luo (Colorado State University, USA)
Packet Acquisition for Spatially Coupling Information Transmission
Dmitri Truhachev (University of Alberta, Canada)

11:00 - 11:50

MASSAP-03: Keynote Session 2

Physical-Layer Network Coding: From Theory to Implementation
Soung Chang Liew (The Chinese University of Hong Kong)
Room: Lvl 4/Rm4

11:50 - 12:30

MASSAP-04: Paper Session 2

Room: Lvl 4/Rm4
Seek and Decode: Random Multiple Access with Multiuser Detection and Physical-Layer Network Coding
Giuseppe Cocco (German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany); Stephan F. Pfletschinger (Centre Tecnol˛gic de Telecomunicacions de Catalunya (CTTC), Spain)
A Random Access Scheme with Physical-layer Network Coding and User Identification
Jasper Goseling (University of Twente, The Netherlands)

14:00 - 15:30

MASSAP-05: Paper Session 3

Room: Lvl 4/Rm4
Joint Decoding of Multiple Non-Binary LDPC Codewords
Stephan F. Pfletschinger (Centre Tecnol˛gic de Telecomunicacions de Catalunya (CTTC), Spain)
Slotted Aloha for Networked Base Stations
Dragana Bajovic (BioSense Center, University of Novi Sad, Serbia); Dusan Jakovetic (BioSense Center, University of Novi Sad, Serbia); Dejan Vukobratovic (University of Novi Sad, Serbia); Vladimir Crnojevic (Novi Sad, Serbia)
Percentile-based Contention Window Design for Random Access MIMO Interference Networks
Zhenzhe Sun (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, P.R. China); Chengnian Long (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, P.R. China); Mary Ann Weitnauer (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
Layer 3 Throughput Analysis for Advanced ALOHA Protocols
Federico Clazzer (German Aerospace Center (DLR) & University of Genova, Germany); Mario Marchese (DIST- University of Genoa, Italy)
Compressive Random Access for Post-LTE Systems
Gerhard Wunder (Heinrich-Hertz-Institut, Germany); Peter Jung (TU-Berlin, Heinrich-Hertz-Chair for Mobile Communication Technology & Fraunhofer German-Sino Lab for Mobile Communications - MCI, Germany); Chen Wang (Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute, Germany)

16:00 - 17:30

MASSAP-06: Panel Session

What is in for the access protocols in 5G wireless systems?
Room: Lvl 4/Rm4

Useful Information

MASSAP 2014 Home

Call for Papers (PDF)

Paper Submission

2013 First DLR Workshop on Random Access and Coding


Important Dates

Full paper submissions
Dec. 31, 2013

Notification of acceptance
Jan. 30, 2014

Final manuscript
Mar. 15, 2014

Workshop Chairs

Anthony Ephremides, University of Maryland
Gianluigi Liva, German Aerospace Center
Enrico Paolini, University of Bologna
Petar Popovski, Aalborg University
Christian Schlegel, Dalhousie University
Michele Zorzi, University of Padova

Technical Program Committee

Fulvio Babich, University of Trieste
Matteo Berioli, German Aerospace Center
Giulio Colavolpe, University of Parma
Riccardo De Gaudenzi, ESA-ESTEC
Peter Fertl, BMW Group
Michael Gastpar, EPFL
Jasper Goseling, Twente University
Alex Grant, University of South Australia
Deniz Gunduz, Imperial College
Gerhard Kramer, TU Munich
Michael Lentmaier, University of Lund
Lu Lu, Chinese University of Hong Kong
Andrea Munari, German Aerospace Center
Krishna Narayanan, Texas A&M
Paola Pulini, German Aerospace Center
Andre Santos, Alcatel Lucent
Sandro Scalise, German Aerospace Center
Osvaldo Simeone, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Lingyang Song, Peking University
Cedomir Stefanovic, Aalborg University
Meixia Tao, Shanghai Jiaotong University
Dmitry Trukhachev, Dalhousie University
Dejan Vukobratovic, University of Novi Sad
Hiroyuki Yomo, Kansai University
Andrea Zanella, University of Padova